Annual “Ed Hanna” Engineer of the Year awards are presented to an “Active Member” who has made an outstanding contribution to the County engineering profession and to CEAC activity.

2018 Engineer of the Year Recipient:

Pat Minturn
Director, Public Works Director, Shasta County

Pat Minturn, the Shasta County Public Works Director, was tasked by his County Administration to lead the Shasta County Carr Fire recovery effort – which included a tremendous amount of work in the City of Redding.  Pat has performed admirably and his work exemplifies an outstanding contribution to the County engineering profession, and it is for these efforts that he is being nominated for the CEAC Engineer of the Year.

On July 23rd, 2018 the Carr Fire started near the intersection of State Highway 299 and Carr Powerhouse Road and quickly grew into a major wildland fire.  The fire jumped the banks of the Sacramento River and threatened the city of Redding – causing 38,000 people to evacuate.  During the fire, the communities of Summit City, Keswick, Lewiston, Shasta Lake City, Igo, Ono, and French Gulch were also evacuated.  The Carr Fire eventually burned nearly 230,000 acres, destroyed over 1600 structures, resulted in 8 fatalities and became the 7th largest wildfire in California history.  During the event, Pat directed his department as they assisted with road closures and evacuations – all the while many of the Departments employees were evacuated themselves, and some even lost homes.

Following the event, the County Administration appointed Pat as the Shasta County Director of the Carr Fire Recovery.  In that capacity, Pat has coordinated with FEMA, Cal OES, Cal Recycle, City of Redding, and other county departments on the recovery, cleanup and debris removal.  To accomplish this, Pat has attended numerous meetings and phone conferences each week, on top of his normal Public Works Director duties.  The cleanup effort has been monumental with 1,149 properties in the City and County needing to be addressed.  To date, all properties have been accounted for and are either utilizing the state cleanup or have opted out using a private contractor to perform the work.  Of those, only 8 properties went through a formal abatement process and have received abatement orders.    Also to date, 164 sites have received a final clean-up and approximately 789 sites have had all debris removed from the site (ash, foundation, fire debris) and are waiting for final approval/test results before the erosion control is completed.  Pat was instrumental in developing various ordinances and resolutions and getting them in place to dictate how the cleanup process would be accomplished.  This was followed by extensive communication with property owners, through letters and a website, informing them about the cleanup process and what options they had, obtaining their approval and getting ROE’s in place so the cleanup process could proceed.  Pat maintained a tremendous amount of close coordination with the State and City throughout the entire process to keep things moving.

Finally, Pat also worked on an effort to consolidate the County Service Area No 23 Keswick Water with an adjacent water district – Shasta Community Service District (CSD).  Both districts were devastated by the fire – with only 27 customers remaining in the Keswick Water District from the nearly 200 that existed prior to the fire.  Consolidating these two districts will result in significant fiscal savings, with only one operating plant and other operational efficiencies. Combining resources will also allow the districts to focus on maintaining water quality this winter, which is a concern amongst the communities these districts serve.

Previous Award Recipients:
2017 Rick Tippett, Trinity County
2016 Mike Penrose, Sacramento County
2015 Susan Klassen, Sonoma County
2014 Julie Bueren, Contra Costa County
2013 Daniel Woldesenbet, Alameda County
2012 Mike Crump, Butte County
2011 Phil Demery, Sonoma County
2010 George Johnson, Riverside County
2009 Pattie McNamee, Contra Costa County
2008 Thomas Flinn, San Joaquin County
2007 Tom Bolich, Santa Cruz County
2006 Patrick DeChellis, Los Angeles County
2005 Brian Lee, San Mateo County
2004 Thomas Flinn, San Joaquin County
2003 Maurice Shiu, Contra Costa County
2002 Don LaBelle, Alameda County
2001 Tom Hunter, Plumas County
2000 Harry Verheul, Kings County
1999 Mehdi Sadjadi, Marin County
1998 Dave Gravenkamp, Siskiyou County
1997 Doug Wilson, Tulare County
1996 Henry Hirata, San Joaquin County
1995 Art Goulet, Ventura County
1994 Richard Welton, Fresno County
1993 Mike Walford, Contra Costa County
1992 Dave Gravenkamp, Siskiyou County

How to Nominate:

Active members that have made outstanding contributions to the County engineering profession and to CEAC activity are eligible for this award. Award recipients are recognized annually at CEAC’s fall conference.

If you wish to nominate a person for the Engineer of the Year award, please complete the Nomination and Narrative forms listed below and return to:

Scott DeLeon, Chair
CEAC Memorial Fund and Scholarship Committee
Lake County
Public Works Department
255 N. Forbes Street
Lakeport, CA 95453

How to Submit:

Email: Submit via email to Lori Price

Phone: (925) 313-2225

Deadline: Friday, October 18, 2019


Email: or or call (707) 263-2341

Engineer of the Year Guidelines

Engineer of the Year Narrative Form

Engineer of the Year Nomination Form